Gold Plan by AXA

Customer Reviews (476 Total)

Reviews with Claims (37 Total)  

Reviews with Claims (37 Total)

Average Rating:

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:
Displaying 1-30 of 476 total reviews
   

Reviewed By: Fernando L.
Location: New York
Review Date: March 15, 2021
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

My congratulations for the prompt help received in the middle of the night, due to a difficult situation I experienced during my trip to Chile. I was on my flight stop over in Bogota, Colombia, and a Latam airline attendant refused to let me embark because on my Gold Travel Policy, Emergency Accident & Sickness Medical Expenses it was NOT specified the word COVID 19 !!
I sent an e-mailed to Customer Services and received an answer almost immediately, clarifying that "Covid was elegible for medical expenses"...
It was a pleasure to show this explanation to the "intelligent" Latam attendant.
P/S It should be considered to add that word in the explanatin of coverage.

Reviewed By: George D.
Location: California
Review Date: July 11, 2020
Traveled To: Brazil

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Due to a medical condition, my doctor advised me not to take the trip because it was to a high altitude country. I sumitted a claim for a refund for the money that I had paid for myself, my son and grandson. The claim form was easy to complete and I received payment within 10 days of submitting the claim form. I was more than satisfied with AXA.

Reviewed By: Leslie L.
Location: Massachusetts
Review Date: June 27, 2020
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We did file a claim due to a death in the family. They were professional and honored the claim.

Reviewed By: Alejandra C.
Location: Texas
Review Date: May 25, 2020
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Reviewed By: Myra C.
Location: California
Review Date: March 13, 2020
Traveled To: Canada

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We did have to file a claim for loss of baggage and one other mishap. The representative was courteous and professional and we received the payment in a timely manner.

Reviewed By: James K.
Location: Pennsylvania
Review Date: January 1, 2020
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I have had a very positive experience with AXA Gold Plan. When my wife, who was not traveling with me, needed emergency hospital care, I needed to cut my travel short by four days, incurring a $2,300 charge for rescheduling my flight home plus losing $745 of pre-booked travel. AXA representatives were very helpful in filing a claim. And I was quickly reimbursed for the costs I had incurred.

Reviewed By: Cameron B.
Location: Illinois
Review Date: September 28, 2019
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I found the representatives at AXA to be "on the ball" when it came down to us needing to cancel our trip for a covered reason. We submitted the claims forms, and were contacted to provide one additional receipt that we forgot to include. Once we did that, they paid our claim. The process couldn't have been smoother, honestly, and I am glad that I chose to "impulse buy" this policy after booking our trip.

Reviewed By: george S.
Location: Ohio
Review Date: July 24, 2019
Traveled To: Caribbean

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

had last minute surgery schedule which precluded going on trip. AXA was wonderful, professional, and prompt in assisting us to process our claim

Reviewed By: Salvatore D.
Location: Arizona
Review Date: July 22, 2019
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

After submitting all of the documents requested for our claim, the claim was approved and we were reimbursed for our loss within 30 days. I feel that was very good service and I was completely satisfied with the settlement.

Thank you
Salvatore D;

Reviewed By: Katherine M.
Location: California
Review Date: June 27, 2019
Traveled To: Spain

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I purchased this insurance because I was walking in Spain for an extended time. I didn’t think I would need the insurance but thought it best to get some. I did injure my foot and I had to go to the hospital. I handed them the insurance card and they took great care of me. No questions about the insurance and no out of pocket. EASY

Reviewed By: Britton M.
Location: Oklahoma
Review Date: June 17, 2019
Traveled To: Peru

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Figured the coverage on electronics would include a cell phone which is an electronic device......but not this one. At&t also wouldn't cover it. Screwed by two insurance companies at once! Will not buy insurance from AXA or Asurion ever again. They're thieves.

Reviewed By: Stephanie R.
Location: Maryland
Review Date: May 6, 2019
Traveled To: Indonesia

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I fell and broke my leg while in Indonesia. My insurance plan covered upgrade to business and first class and lounge access during layovers as well as a car to take me 3hs from the airport back home. I never imagined I would need it, but so thankful that I had it. The phone reps were wonderful!

Home safely!
SR, Maryland

Reviewed By: Christopher P.
Location: New York
Review Date: April 19, 2019
Traveled To: New Zealand

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

All in all I’m glad I took out the insurance. I went to New Zealand for a ‘bucket list’ four week motorcycle tour. After three weeks and 2700 delightful kilometers of spectacular riding I had a low speed crash. I broke my right ankle and three ribs but had no concussion. New Zealand first responders called an ambulance and I was transported to the hospital in Gisborne. Upon admission to the hospital I got my first shock. They would not accept my AXA medical insurance.
This is because as the victim of an accident in New Zealand, even though I was not a citizen or resident, all my expenses related to my transportation to the hospital and care in hospital were covered by the ACC program of the New Zealand 🇳🇿 government. That was a pleasant shock but not the reason for my disappointment with my AXA coverage.
After I was stabilized, x-rayed and had consulted with my NZ doctors I decided to travel back home to New York to have my ankle reconstructed. I contacted AXA. What followed was a prolonged marathon of email and phone contacts with various AXA representatives while I was assigned a case number and finally a specialized email address to improve my ability to connect with AXA representatives who were familiar with my case. My communications were hampered by my inability to make a foreign collect call and limited cell phone minutes on my New Zealand Vodaphone SIM chip.
After much back and forth with AXA and my medical team it was Agreed by AXA that they would arrange portal to portal transportation from my hospital in Gisborne NZ to my home in Westchester country New York. I was to have airline seating that would allow me to keep my leg cast elevated and assistance with airport transfers but it was not deemed necessary that I have an escort for the flight portions of my journey. So be it.
An itinerary was forwarded to me and I approved it. I was to leave Thursday morning at 4:30am local time to catch a 6:45am feeder flight to the international airport in Auckland. AXA was having difficulty getting reliable transport to the Gisborne Airport so I arranged for a local grind of mine to give me a lift. Late the night before the flight I was contacted by AXA to say their travel agent was not able to secure the itinerary as planned and that their would be a 24 delay. I would leave on Friday morning.
Long story short - I left Gisborne Friday afternoon, got a friend in Auckland to facilitate my transfer from the domestic terminal to the international terminal in Auckland, and flew out of Auckland via Air New Zealand Business Class in a sleeper lounge seat. That upgrade made my trip home survivable. The saga wasn’t Over.
The AXA travel agent booked me on United Airlines for the three hour final leg from Houston to NY - LaGuarida. Unfortunately the proviso that I should have three economy or two first class seats across so as to keep my cast elevated got lost somewhere and I was assigned a single ‘bulkhead’ seat. This meant I had to lock my leg and cast into a 45 degree upward angle to avoid swelling or lower it to the floor where pooling blood in the cast would send it throbbing. I spent the next three hours in exhausted agony shifting from one unsatisfactory position to the other. Remember, I also have broken ribs which means jolts, twists, coughs, sneezes or even sharp breaths cause me agony.
Upon arriving in New York there was delay and miscommunication (partly my fault for not having a working cell phone).
I am home now. I am going in for surgery this morning. I am glad I bought the coverage but I cannot say that the medical extraction was done properly. I wish the travel agent who booked that last leg from Houston to NY would know how much I suffered and be mindful of following the AXA medical team’s recommendations on seating. And I wish that the person who felt I did not need an escort despite my broken ribs would have to make the journey as I did, alone, anxious, in pain and suffering so that they might better understand the conditions they put me through.
I was not looking for a luxury upgrade but I was expecting that a policy for $500,000 medical extraction would do the job adequately. I don’t feel the AXA team met that expectation.
When my flight itinerary was changed by AXA from Cathay Pacific leaving Thursday to Air New Zealand leaving Friday I got in touch with AXA to offer my Air New Zealand flight credit from my own Air New Zealand flight home. I acted in good faith to try to minimize AXA’s expenses on my behalf. I feel that AXA’s travel agent did not look out adequately for me on the last leg home.

Response From AXA

Thank you for contacting us about your experience with the medical assistance process with AXA. We value you as a customer and are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with our service, including numerous telephone calls with our assistance team, delays in repatriation planning, and an inappropriate seat booking. We are working internally with our assistance team and with our travel provider to ensure that these issues do not arise in the future.

Reviewed By: brian r.
Location: California
Review Date: April 2, 2019
Traveled To: Switzerland

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I had some flight cancelations on my trip. I had a really tough time getting coverage for my loss. There were no quick responses from customer service. Limited coverage and fine print. I thought I was protected on this trip, instead I am out of pocket thousands of dollars.

Response From AXA

Thank You for contacting us about your claim. Your claim has been reviewed. Unfortunately, your claim would not be eligible for the Flight Cancellation benefit as we have not received any information from you to substantiate the cancellation. Additionally, we were unable to locate any information through our online resources to show why your flights were cancelled. However, your claim is eligible for 1 day of coverage under the Trip Delay benefit in which payment will be submitted to you. Should we receive information from you that supports the cancellation of your flights, we will be happy to review the claim for reconsideration of benefits.

Reviewed By: Bethany M.
Location: Georgia
Review Date: February 11, 2019
Traveled To: Finland

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I received my claim money in full only after submitting an appeal because the claim was closed and half payment sent with no notice or explanation. When I received the odd check amount I wasn’t able to access on phone, in writing or online any itemized breakdown of what the check was reimbursing me for. I had to resubmit all the paperwork, not just the missing paperwork, to claims again with a very detailed breakdown of expenses which was frustrating, stressful and time consuming. All agents I spoke with were as helpful as they could be but the process itself does not favor the customer. I would respectfully request management to revisit their process to allow for more communication and more insight for the customer.

Response From AXA

The claim form was originally received and approved for partial payment. According to information we had at that time, the remainder of the amount was refunded by carrier/travel supplier.

The policyholder called on 11/19/18 stating that she did not receive a refund from the travel supplier. The policyholder sent in her appeal documents on 11/27 & 11/28/18, which supported her position. The appeal was processed on 12/20/18 for payment and a check was cut for an additional amount on 12/27/18.

Reviewed By: Jay B.
Location: Alabama
Review Date: January 22, 2019
Traveled To: Mexico

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We had to file a claim because I had emergency surgery. When I purchased the policy, I did not list Carolyn on the policy because my wife and I paid her part. We listed Zachariah as he was to stay in the same room as Carolyn. My wife called to inquire about the progress when she was told we would only receive half payment for Zacharias room because Carolyn was not on the policy. I believe this is very unfair, as we purchased enough to protect the cruise amount and flights and we only requested the $2600 we lost from the cruise line. It is plain to see that we purchased both rooms on the cruise line. Therefore we should be paid the full $2600. Also, at this time, we have only received one check for $650 made out to me, Jay

Response From AXA

Thank you for contacting us about your claim. Your claim has been reviewed and with the additional information and clarification you provided, we have issued an additional payment and your claim is now paid in full. You should expect to receive your reimbursement check shortly.

Reviewed By: Marisa H.
Location: California
Review Date: January 17, 2019
Traveled To: South Africa

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

What is the point of travel insurance that includes coverage of stolen items--if it doesn't cover my stolen cellphone? I won't go with this service again.

Reviewed By: donald s.
Location: Illinois
Review Date: December 6, 2018
Traveled To: Spain

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Extremely pleased...it was necessary to cancel our trip and AXA was very responsive. Within a short period of time AXA refunded all of my costs.,,,without
incurring any difficulities.


Reviewed By: Edward G.
Location: Florida
Review Date: December 5, 2018
Traveled To: Vietnam

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Overall good but not great service. I gave notice that I needed access to a carrier with a handicapped toilet however AXA did not provide one. As a result I could not have a bowel movement and had to "hold it" for approximately two days during my emergency evacuation Nov. 13- 15 from Saigon to Frankfurt to Orlando Florida then by ambulance from Orlando to my home city Jacksonville, Florida. The hospital in Saigon which had done many evacuations from Vietnam to the U.S. told me that Cathay Pacific was a carrier flying out of Saigon with a handicapped toilet. Accordingly, since I had $500k in evacuation coverage, I question whether this denial was in good faith based on my needs as my injured leg was locked and I could not sit on the regular small airline toilets booked for my evacuation ( Vietnam Airlines and Lufthansa). I was not consulted as to choice of airlines or options best for my needs.

I was very pleased with both the male nurse and the female nurse who traveled back with me. I had a fever on the Saigon Frankfurt leg and the male nurse Sean LNU helped me get the fever down. The female nurse Maureen Banathy on the Frankfurt to Orlando then Jacksonville segment was superb. Both nurses are a credit to AXA.
Sincerely,
Edward Gaines

Reviewed By: Julia E.
Location: Rhode Island
Review Date: October 8, 2018
Traveled To: Argentina

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

The information required to file my claim was clearly communicated. There was a hitch getting the information from AXA to the third party responsible for settlement- the file was kept open pending information that I had already submitted. Once I contacted AXA to resolve, they quickly sent the electronic scanned file to the third party for settlement.
My claim was then processed quickly and we received full reimbursement.

Reviewed By: Marianne H.
Location: North Carolina
Review Date: June 22, 2018
Traveled To: French Polynesia

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We had to cancel our trip due to a cancer diagnosis in the family. The process required to obtain our refund was easy and the refund was in our hands within 3 weeks. I would certainty recommend this company

Reviewed By: Richard M.
Location: Florida
Review Date: May 30, 2018
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We were not able to go on the trip as my wife fell and broke her back. We filed the claim with all supporting documentation. The claim was processed in a very professional manor and we were apprised of the claim status several times. The service was excellent.
Thank you

Reviewed By: JERROLD S.
Location: Florida
Review Date: May 3, 2018
Traveled To: Netherlands

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Purchased the AXA gold plan (cancel for any reason)in Aug 2017 for a trip to Amsterdam this past April. Prices were competative and plan benefits were very good.
Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip for some financial reasons plus some not too serious medical problems.
We put in a claim a few weeks ago to cancel for any reason and should be reeimbursed 75% of our cost outlay. Filled out some paperwork and were informed our claim was approved and should be receiving a check shortly.
Everything is proceeding smoothly at this point and we would probably use AXA (thru travel insurance.com) for our next journey.

Reviewed By: Siggie B.
Location: Florida
Review Date: September 5, 2017
Traveled To: Portugal

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

My bag was unfortunately stolen during my trip and I was relived to have this trip insurance policy in place. I was given a daily stipend and a check for the maximum coverage for lost baggage. They helped make a tough situation more manageable for me and I am thankful for that.

Reviewed By: Clara B.
Location: North Carolina
Review Date: April 30, 2017
Traveled To: Peru

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Unfortunately, my husband and I had to use the insurance. He became quite ill on the cruise, had to be dropped off the ship in Bonnaire, then Med evacuated back home. The Insurance company took care of everything. I was so deeply grateful to have the wonderful cooperation of all the folks taking care of us. They went above and beyond all expectations, even returning our unused portion of the trip. Thank you. I highly recommend AXA -- their premium was one of the lowest and included everything. I cannot say enough good things about them.

Reviewed By: Richard D.
Location: Florida
Review Date: April 25, 2017
Traveled To: China

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Did have to file a claim. The amount of documentation needed was reasonable. The settlement took slightly more then 30 days but I was able to track its progress with phone calls. I would use their services again.

Reviewed By: Janis B.
Location: California
Review Date: February 7, 2017
Traveled To: Kenya

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Due to an illness and the doctor's recommendation that I delay my travel plans for several days, I had to reschedule my flight, incurring both medical expenses and a flight rescheduling fee.

AXA responded to my claim in a timely manner for the medical reimbursement portion, which was issued separately from the rebooking fee reimbursement. When I contacted AXA to let them know I had not received that the second reimbursement, they asked me to wait a week or so. When the check still didn't arrive I contacted them and was told they had reissued the check, which arrived within a week or two with no problems.

My only suggestion (and I apologize if this was done and I just overlooked it) is that AXA advises the claimant that their claim reimbursement will be handled in two separate checks.

In an age when customers seem to matter less and less, I applaud AXA for their excellent customer service. Keep up the good work. I will definitely consider them in future travel plans.

Reviewed By: Leslie M.
Location: California
Review Date: February 6, 2017
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Claim was handled expeditiously. Will consider again on future journeys.

Reviewed By: Michael D.
Location: California
Review Date: February 4, 2017
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

The purchase process was easy and I was pleased to find that the claims process was pretty straight forward. I had an unexpected medical emergency take place and Axa was helpful during the trip and paid my claim in full swiftly.

Reviewed By: Stephen K.
Location: Pennsylvania
Review Date: January 26, 2017
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Purchased travel insurance to cover 16 day trip. Trip was cancelled by tour operator. It has been more than 6 weeks, I'm still trying to complete my claim for the cost of the insurance. I will never buy insurance from AXA Assistance again.

Response From AXA

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced in filing a claim. An email was sent to you requesting the booking confirmation. Once that is received, we can finalize the claim. Please contact us using the claims contact information on your policy documents if you have additional questions.

Share Your Experience

Review Gold Plan by AXA