Platinum Plan by AXA

Customer Reviews (429 Total)

Reviews with Claims (33 Total)  

Reviews with Claims (33 Total)

Average Rating:

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:
Displaying 1-30 of 429 total reviews
   

Reviewed By: Michael N.
Location: Michigan
Review Date: May 7, 2020
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I feel the coverage for the cost was a good value. I do have a pending claim based upon travel disruption. I submitted receipts for the additional expense with the initial claims filing but was asked for much more information once that was reviewed. While I always hope to not have to file a claim, it would be helpful to have a specific list of required items as part of the claim form. I can only give claims a 3 star for now, we will have to see how the process works out.

Reviewed By: Lauren H.
Location: Florida
Review Date: April 1, 2020
Traveled To: Belize

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Large reputable insurer and the cancel for any reason option got me most of my at risk trip cost back when I cancelled due to Covid-19.

Reviewed By: Mark L.
Location: Virginia
Review Date: March 15, 2020
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I was lucky enough to go to Italy prior to the Coronavirus issues, but unlucky in that I suffered a medical emergency during my trip. I kept my receipts from the medical facility and filed a claim with AXA. They approved the claim and sent me the claim payment, which is why I am leaving this positive review.

Reviewed By: Donald D.
Location: Hawaii
Review Date: January 23, 2020
Traveled To: New Zealand

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

While traveling in New Zealand we were unable to reach Christchurch for our return home flight because of bridge flooding, closing access for 3 days. I called and informed the insurance provider and they informed me of what was needed to process a claim. After returning home I submitted our expenses and was fully reimbursed within 15 days.

Reviewed By: Shawn K.
Location: Minnesota
Review Date: December 3, 2019
Traveled To: Bolivia

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Reviewed By: Vicci M.
Location: Arizona
Review Date: November 23, 2019
Traveled To: France

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I am still in the midst very f my claim. I’m glad you haven’t closed the case!!!

Reviewed By: Michael J.
Location: Utah
Review Date: July 28, 2019
Traveled To: French Polynesia

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We were pleased we got the insurance, but it was expensive. Coverage was what we expected, from what we remember. We had a small claim, that was paid out in a reasonable timeframe. To file claim, was easy enough too, with friendly customer service representative. Thank you.

Reviewed By: AUSTIN H.
Location: Indiana
Review Date: July 24, 2019
Traveled To: France

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

The amount of information you have to provide one filing a claim goes beyond ridiculous. I provided receipts and more. And was asked for a giant list of back up documents that you just don’t keep. I will not be purchasing insurance with this company again. It’s not worth the hassle.

Response From AXA

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced in filing a claim. We appreciate your comments and continually use customer feedback to improve our customer service experience. If you have questions related to the claims process or required supporting documentation, our claims service center is happy to answer them for you. We hope you will consider us again for future travel.

Reviewed By: Bruce N.
Location: Colorado
Review Date: July 17, 2019
Traveled To: Indonesia

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Horrible customer service. They give multiple phones numbers out and I have spent nearly $100 in foreign country calls and over an hour trying to get someone on the phone to talk about a claim I needed to file because of a flight cancellation event!!! They sent me from one agent to another and kept me on hold even though I told them it was an international call! I just got back so I will be filing a claim soon.

Response From AXA

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced calling our service center. We appreciate your comments and continually use customer feedback to improve our products and customer service experience. We hope you will consider us again for future travel.

Reviewed By: Emily F.
Location: Nevada
Review Date: July 15, 2019
Traveled To: France

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I had to file a claim due to weather delaying a flight, and the customer service rep was incredibly helpful and understanding. I will definitely be using them again in the future for other travels.

Reviewed By: Richard R.
Location: Florida
Review Date: July 4, 2019
Traveled To: Spain

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

very happy with the handling of my claim

Reviewed By: Donald R.
Location: Colorado
Review Date: May 16, 2019
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Purchasing the insurance was very easy. I have been trying to file a claim since Mach 14, 2019. For Medical/hospitalization reasons we were not able to take the trip. They did contact me a few times to have me fill out their form. I did so on March 14, but heard nothing back. I then emailed them 13 times asking if they needed more info and they sent me a DO NOT REPLY email saying the form was incomplete.. I could not get them to tell me WHAT information they wanted. Today I started all over again (it will now take another 2 weeks for them to submit more info to me). So....so far we are not pleased. This is over a $6,000 loss for us. I'm sure I have done something wrong, but I could not/cannot get the company to tell me what info I have missed. Thank you for asking.

Response From AXA

Thank you for contacting us about your experience filing your claim. We value you as a customer and are very sorry that you have experienced a delay with having your claim processed. We understand from our claim processor that your claim was processed and they have already reached out to you with an update. We are working internally with our claim processor to ensure that these issues do not arise in the future.

Reviewed By: Julian G.
Location: Florida
Review Date: February 5, 2019
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I strongly recommend this policy: professional and extremely efficient.

Reviewed By: Caroline M.
Location: Pennsylvania
Review Date: November 23, 2018
Traveled To: Kenya

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

The cost was great but it took almost two months for me to receive my refund after my cancellation. I like the rates though.

Reviewed By: Alan C.
Location: Illinois
Review Date: October 8, 2018
Traveled To: Italy

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Reviewed By: Jean D.
Location: Florida
Review Date: July 9, 2018
Traveled To: Canada

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I became sick on Vacation. I notified AXA that I was sick and they instructed me to visit my nearest Emergency Room and to save all of my bills. I went to a walk in Urgent Care center, and after being seen by a physician, he prescribed two antibiotics. The AXA Representative that I spoke with during my illness was extremely helpful, even calling me two times after I received medical care to check up on my condition. Additionally, he sent me a claim form and instructed me on how to complete the form. I submitted my claim, along with copies of the Urgent Care Facility Bill and the Pharmacy Receipt on June 7, 2018. Approximately 1 month later I received an email asking for copies of the stamped pages of my passport or my airline documents. The issue is that I drove to Canada, where they do not routinely stamp passports. Now I have to send copies of credit card bills and receipt showing that I indeed drove to Canada, and was in Canada during the time that I was seen at the Urgent Care Center... This is such a hassle. The Urgent Care Center paperwork with my name, home address, the pharmacy receipts in my name and my credit card receipts showing that I was the one who paid the bills and was examined should have been enough.

Reviewed By: Jean W.
Location: Washington
Review Date: July 8, 2018
Traveled To: Ecuador

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Your company has been very helpful with the claim I have filed. I never made it to Ecuador. I was taken off the plane in Los Angeles because I had pneumonia. I never got to go on my trip. Again, your staff has been very helpful.

Reviewed By: Ken H.
Location: California
Review Date: June 22, 2018
Traveled To: Ecuador

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

We did not actually file a claim but i did fall on some lava rocks in the Galapagos islands and torn skin from my arm. we contacted the Travel Insurance co. and they responded very quickly with forms etc. However the doctor on the ship who I saw everyday after the incident to reward the wound etc said there would be no charge for the incident. I did miss two tours but did not file a claim. Ken Hansen

Reviewed By: ty d.
Location: New Jersey
Review Date: June 6, 2018
Traveled To: Thailand

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

My son was injured on his trip to Thailand and had a severe infection on his knee. The only hospital on an island off the coast accepted the AXA insurance plan and AXA paid the claim in full the next day. Customer service was very friendly!
This policy saved us about $1400

Reviewed By: Seymour M.
Location: California
Review Date: February 23, 2018
Traveled To: Panama

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Purchase of policy was simple and quite satisfactory. However, unfortunately it was necessary to cancel our trip due to my health, a heart attack and subsequent interventional surgery. Cardiologist said no travel for at least six months, so trip cancelled. Claim has been submitted to the insurance company with accompanying documentation on January 21st, 2018. Thus far, over 30 days later, no response. So, I am unable to give them more than three stars at this time and may find it necessary to downgrade that rating if they do not respond and pay. Policy purchased was with AXA. Hope this is helpful to anyone considering purchasing from them.

Response From AXA

Upon receipt of your information, we asked our claims team to look into the claim and provide us with a status update as soon as possible. We were informed that the claim had just been approved by the underwriter. The check for the claimed amount should be received within 10-15 business days. We are sorry that the insured needed to cancel his trip and for any inconvenience during the claims process while we investigated the claim.

Kind Regards,
AXA Assistance USA

Reviewed By: Gregory C.
Location: California
Review Date: January 24, 2018
Traveled To: Brazil

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I was greatly pained at having to pay for travel insurance that I thought we would never use. But the trip was several months ahead and anything could happen...and it did. AXA was competitively priced and once the paper work was complete we got our refund in trip about 40 days. All good, would use AXA again and probably will.

Reviewed By: Curtis S.
Location: Colorado
Review Date: October 27, 2017
Traveled To: Spain

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Didn't need it. Glad I had it.

Reviewed By: PATRICIA D.
Location: New York
Review Date: October 18, 2017
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I did receive a refund, however, I had to submit a physician's statement to receive the refund.

Reviewed By: Terry M.
Location: Florida
Review Date: September 17, 2017
Traveled To: South Africa

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I found the adjuster unhelpful. However, once I persisted through the process, the company paid my claim.

Reviewed By: Paulette R.
Location: California
Review Date: September 17, 2017
Traveled To: Netherlands

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I was reimbursed for a medical claim for from a medical expense in Amsterdam.

Reviewed By: Minerva G.
Location: Illinois
Review Date: September 6, 2017
Traveled To: Israel

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

The company reimbursed my for my missed connection after I submitted the required paperwork. While it wasn't a large claim, I appreciated their attentiveness to the matter.

Reviewed By: Joyce H.
Location: South Carolina
Review Date: February 4, 2017
Traveled To: Ghana

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Had to use this coverage due to our daughter having surgery before we left. It was a disappointment that we had to postpone our trip but a positive that we were able to cancel and recover the cost of our trip via check in the mail from AXA.

Reviewed By: Darrin R.
Location: California
Review Date: February 4, 2017
Traveled To: Argentina

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Another traveler in our group filed a claim due to a broken leg on the trip and they were reimbursed in full. I'm very thankful nothing happened to me but always thankful to be covered.

Reviewed By: Alisa E.
Location: New York
Review Date: February 4, 2017
Traveled To: United States

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

I usually purchase insurance when I travel and then forget about it. This time it came in very handy since I had to cancel my trip due to a family emergency. The representatives were helpful and my claim was settled satisfactory to me.

Reviewed By: Jerry R.
Location: Pennsylvania
Review Date: January 16, 2017
Traveled To: New Zealand

 Verified Customer

Overall:
Coverage:
Cost:
Claims:

Customer Comments

Small claim handled pretty efficiently with no hassles.

Share Your Experience

Review Platinum Plan by AXA